Enjoy Fabulous Discounts on Bulk Orders.

Dwapara Yuga - The Bronze Age

Posted By ServDharm


Posted on October 22 2021

Dwapara Yuga is the third in the cycle of epochs called yugas according to Hindu philosophy. This yuga is known as the third best yuga and is preceded by the Treta yuga and followed by the Kali Yuga. It is believed that this yuga saw a significant decline in morality and values of truth and justice. In Sanskrit Dwapara means ‘two ahead’.

This era is also sometimes referred to as the Bronze Age. The standard and quality of life decreased during this age with a rise in deceitfulness, sin, and unhappiness. However, this yuga saw a lot of advancement in science and technology because of which it is also called the Age of Energy. This is also the time when humans learned how to transcend space and distance.

Dwapara yuga was when the events of the great epic Mahabharata took place, including the incarnation of Lord Krishna to fight evil. One of the most important contributions of this age was the Bhagwad Gita, told to Arjuna by Lord Krishna just before the great war of Kurukshetra.  It is believed that this yuga ended when Lord Krishna left for his eternal abode Vaikuntha, after completing his task of destroying evil and restoring order.

Lord Vishnu took his 8th and 9th avatar during the Dwapara yuga. The 8th avatar was Lord Krishna who appeared on earth to fight evil and restore the balance between good and bad. This was followed by the 9th avatar Buddha who spread messages of enlightenment and peace.

The bull or cow representing Dharma or morality stands on two legs in the Dwapara Yuga. This yuga is said to have lasted for 2400 divine years or 864000 earth years. Some of the characteristics of the Dwapara yuga are

  1. Increase in disease
  2. Shorter lifespan of around 1000 years
  3. Rise in Tamasic qualities (laziness, anger, attachment, depression, dependency, self-doubt, guilt, boredom, irritation, addiction, apathy, confusion, grief, ignorance)
  4. Escalation in discontent
  5. People started indulging in class and caste differences and discrimination
  6. Vedas were divided into 4 parts- Rig, Sama, Yajur, and Atharva.
  7. Lord Vishnu assumed the colour yellow

People in the Dwapara Yuga sought achievements of the scriptural dharma which is prescribed to each class, valiant, and competitive by nature. There was a decline in the divine intellect and hardly anyone was wholly truthful. Idol worship was followed in the Dwapara Yuga and people started constructing temples as abodes for gods.  People also became interested in glory and believed in living a life of indulgence and enjoyment. This automatically led to a decline in intuition and a rise in selfishness and greed.


Written by Aarti Natarajan Sharma



Leave a Comment